ASEAN defense ministers adopt three-year work prog

2014-05-20 12:00:00

Defense ministers from members states of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) adopted a three-year work program for 2014-16 here on Tuesday.

The ministers agreed to a concept paper for establishing a direct communications link and additional protocol at the 8th ASEAN Defense Ministers Meeting, under the theme of "defense cooperation towards peaceful and prosperous ASEAN community."

Myanmar Defense Minister Lieutenant-General Wai Lwin, who is the chair, said that facing the challenges in the road to an ASEAN Community in 2015, it is imperative to maintain peaceful and stable environment for the continued progress and prosperity in the region.

The ASEAN defense ministers also signed a joint declaration on defense cooperation towards peaceful and prosperous ASEAN community, reaffirming the regional bloc's commitment to consolidate defense cooperation for the realization of the ASEAN Community.

The gathering was followed by an informal meeting between defense ministers of ASEAN and China.

Founded in 1967, ASEAN groups Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.